Congratulations to all the state winners of the 2019 ACSA Aged Care Awards

ACSA’s busy state awards season around the country has capped off for the year, recognising thirty-four talented individuals, organisations and initiatives for their work leading the aged care industry forward.

22 Aug 2019

Winners from each state will now represent their state at the National Awards presentation held during the ACSA National Summit taking place in Melbourne from Tuesday 8 October to Thursday 10 October. Early bird registrations end today (22 August) so book today and save.

“ACSA’s state awards recognise some of the wonderful people who commit themselves tirelessly day-in-day out to the care of others,” said ACSA CEO Pat Sparrow.

“Our industry is run on the strength of those efforts. ACSA’s state-based awards are an important way of acknowledging the dedication and commitment of our workers and volunteers. “

“ACSA congratulates all of the finalists and winners - whether achieved as an individual or as part of a team you should be very proud of the contribution you are making and the recognition you so richly deserve,” said Ms Sparrow.

“We look forward to welcoming our state winners to Melbourne to contribute their stories and experiences to our national ageing agenda. The Summit promises three stimulating days of discussion about our fast-changing sector, and each of our Award winners have valuable experiences and achievements to contribute to our exciting program.”

Further information on ACSA’s National Summit is available here.


Provider of the Year

Western Australia: South West Community Care

South Australia: Kalyra Communities

Queensland: Footprints

New South Wales: RFBI (Royal Freemasons’ Benevolent Institution)

Tasmania: Glenview Community Services

Victoria: Multicultural Aged Care Services – Geelong (MACS)


Rural, Regional, Remote Provider of the Year

Western Australia: Community Home Care

South Australia: Mt View Homes

Queensland: Feros Care

New South Wales: Crowley Care Services

Tasmania: Emmerton Park


Innovation in Service of Design

Western Australia: SwanCare, “Senior Citizen Partnership Program”

South Australia: Southern Cross Care (SA & NT) Inc, “Carmelite Residential Care and Retirement Living project”

Queensland: Feros Care, “Technology for aged care in the 21st century"

New South Wales: McLean Care, “Australia’s first virtual reality driving simulator named HECTOR VR”

Tasmania: Community Care Tasmania, “Live Well, Live Longer” (April 2019)”

Victoria: Fronditha Care, “Lifestyle and Activity Program (Clayton South)”


Distinguished Service in Care

Western Australia: David Fenwick, Amaroo Village

South Australia: Richard Hearn, Resthaven

New South Wales: Karen Slater, Bundaleer Care Services

Tasmania: Carolyn Wallace

Victoria: Michele Lewis, Mecwacare


Employee of the Year

Western Australia: Andrea Kelly, Rise Network

South Australia: Dr Tim Henwood, Group Manager, Connected Living -Community Wellness & Lifestyle, Southern Cross Care

New South Wales: Janean Cole, Anglican Care

Tasmania: Janine Stokley, Masonic Care Tasmania

Victoria: Khoryom Nyuon, Fronditha Care


Volunteer of the Year

Western Australia: Fred Wilken, St Bartholemew’s House

South Australia: Jim Richardson, RSL Care SA

Queensland: Paul Freeborough, Sally Dickenson, Suncare Community Services

New South Wales: Irene Reeves, Koonambil Aged Care

Tasmania: Susan Bye, Community Transport Services Tasmania


Trainee of the Year

New South Wales: Carol Goodger, Warrigal

Tasmania: Jean Moussalli, Queen Victoria Care


Thank you and good luck to one and all!