National Awards recognise some of the best providers in aged care

Release date: 08 Oct 2019

The peak body for non-profit aged care providers Aged and Community Services will announce the provider winners of the annual ACSA Aged Care National Awards in Melbourne as a part of its National Summit.

The awards highlight outstanding achievements and contributions made by organisations, teams and individuals in the aged care industry.

There are seven categories that people and providers in the aged care sector have been nominated for; Provider of the Year; Innovation in Service or Design; Rural, Regional, Remote Provider of the Year; Distinguished Service; Employee of the Year; Volunteer of the Year and Trainee of the Year.

The nominees from each category are formed by the winners from each of the state awards, which were held in July and August earlier this year.

“The Royal Commission has put our sector in the spotlight and is also encouraging a big national conversation about how we can better prepare for ageing.

“It’s extremely important to share and recognise all the good work that is being done in our sector. Especially examples of high-quality care, innovation and positive solutions being demonstrated by our award winners,” Ms Sparrow said.

The winners for the following categories are:


Winner (Provider – State)

Provider of the Year

Royal Freemasons’ Benevolent Institution – New South Wales

Innovation in Service or Design

SwanCare, “Senior Citizen Partnership Program” – Western Australia

Rural, Regional, Remote Provider
of the Year

Feros Care – Queensland


The winners for the individual awards will be announced the next day on Wednesday 9 October.

Ms Sparrow said, “These winners are just some of the many in the sector that we should look to as shining examples of what aged care providers can contribute to our communities.

“Our members do aged care because they care. We are all passionate about delivering the highest possible quality of care to our ageing population.

“The aged care workforce is empathetic, respectful, passionate and dedicated which makes all the difference to the lives of older Australians in their care.

“ACSA congratulates all the winners, as well as the nominees, for their commitment to deliver quality care to many older Australians,” said Ms Sparrow.


The ACSA Aged Care Awards are a part of the National Summit held in Melbourne from 8-10 October 2019.


As the peak body representing church, charitable and community-based organisations providing accommodation and care services to older people, people with a disability and their carers, ACSA can be contacted for comment on issues affecting the industry.

Areas ACSA may provide media commentary on include:  

  • Aged care reforms
  • Residential aged care
  • Home care
  • Independent and retirement living
  • Housing for older Australians
  • Palliative care
  • The aged care workforce in Australia


Looking for media releases prior to July 2018? They're in our archive